Swedish Roots and Making a Living in Sweden

This is a picture of one of the stacks for the iron foundry in Logdo Brook—The Hammerberg roots. The date for this stack for the iron works is 1685. Iron smelting was a major industry in Sweden. Iron smelting was a dangerous occupation with many injuries and fires and deaths.

Two Svenskas whose ancestors worked in the iron foundry.                                The parish church in Logdo Bruk.

Logdo Herrgard Manor House bought by the church and restored. Now is used for a B&B and for wedding receptions. Herrgard was the owner of the foundry and had his quarters away from the iron works in the parish of Logdo.

Part of the tree harvesting that is still the major industry in Sweden. The pile of “twigs and sticks” or pine logs grew throughout our time in the stuga. The whole area was filled with logs by the time we left.

One of the few pictures of me as I am usually behind the camera. This is the last evening in the stuga. As you can tell it is quite sunny and this is how it looks throughout much of the night and when the sun rises around 3am. As you can tell it is cold. I still am wearing fleece with my red Keen sandals. I have sandals to match my backpacks–red and green on this trip.

Since I am behind in the posts, we are now in Denmark in a tiny and I do mean tiny room in Copenhagen. Next posts will be Stockholm and Copenhagen.

One thought on “Swedish Roots and Making a Living in Sweden

Leave a comment