Liverpool and Bugs and Worms and More Parasites….

Hey mate! I am off to Liverpool and the Tropical School of Medicine to study about bugs, worms, parasites and tropical diseases. One of the insects I am interested in learning about is the Beatles! This is the 51st anniversary of the Beatles first session at the Cavern in Liverpool. I even have an app for my iPad that is a map of Beatles history in Liverpool.

So I have completed  my precourse assignment on TB, 17 neglected tropical diseases and more parasites than you can imagine. I am excited to have the international experience of attending school in another country. There are 57 nurses from all over the world enrolled in this course. The on site course involves class and parasitology lab Monday through Friday all day for 3 weeks. I will have an “unseen test” that has MCQ’s and EMQ’s based on case studies about various tropical diseases. I will then go home and write a 3000 word thesis using the Harvard style of writing on a case study and a specific tropical disease. I will have 3 weeks to write the thesis. The thesis is worth 65% of my grade and the test is 35%. The decision and grade will be determined by a board of examiners who will meet in the fall.

So since this is the 51st anniversary of the Beatles, I am going to take full opportunity to enjoy the rich musical history in Liverpool along with other insects and parasites.

Malaria Mosquito

Leave a comment